French Author Annie Ernaux Wins 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature

With Annie Ernaux, Nobel now has 17 women among its 119 laureates.

Avatar photo
French writer Annie Ernaux – awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature – was born in 1940 and grew up in the small town of Yvetot in Normandy, where her parents had a combined grocery store and café.

French writer Annie Ernaux_

The 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded to the French author Annie Ernaux “for the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots, estrangements and collective restraints of personal memory.” 

Annie’s Ernaux work combines historic and individual experiences. Ernaux’s 2008 historical memoir Les Années (The Years), very well received by French critics, is considered by many to be the 82-year-old’s magnum opus.

Past Recipients

2021: Abdulrazak Gurnah

2020: Louise Glück

2019: Peter Handke

2018: Olga Tokarczuk

2017: Kazuo Ishiguro

2016: Bob Dylan

2015: Svetlana Alexievich

2014: Patrick Modiano

2013: Alice Munro

2012: Mo Yan

According to the Swedish Academy, it honours an author with Nobel Prize in Literature from any country who has, in the words of the will of industrialist Alfred Nobel, “in the field of literature, produced the most outstanding work in an idealistic direction”.

Wangari Maathai: Africa's first woman Nobel Peace Prize winner


Avatar photo

Laiza is a seasoned and experienced freelance editor and copywriter, who's passionate about authentic content that drives sales.

Leave a comment
scroll to top