Close

WhatsApp’s New Privacy Features Allow Users to Leave Silently

WhatsApp privacy features will usher in the WhatsApp privacy campaign to be rolled out this month.

David Indeje is Khusoko’s Digital Editor, covering East African markets.
The new feature will be optional and users will be able to switch to the older Archived chats implementation if they don't like it.

Meta-owned WhatsApp announced new security features on Tuesday. 

The three new WhatsApp privacy features will usher in the WhatsApp privacy campaign to be rolled out this month. They include:

  • Exiting group chats without informing everyone.
  • Controlling who can see when you are online.
  • Preventing screenshots on messages that have been viewed just once.

In addition, users will be able to delete their messages even after two days of sending them.

According to Mark Zuckerberg‘s statement, “The new WhatsApp features “provide users more privacy, protection, and control.” 

He added, “We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”

Ami Vora, head of products at WhatsApp, said, “At WhatsApp, we’re focused on building product features that empower people to have more control and privacy over their messages.” 

The new global campaign to educate the people about its new privacy features will start in the UK and India.

During the campaign, the participants will also know how WhatsApp works to protect users’ private conversations.

WhatsApp Building ‘Communities’ to Organise Groups


 

David Indeje is Khusoko’s Digital Editor, covering East African markets.

In my role as Community Engagement Editor For Khusoko, I care about our audience. engaging them, getting news delivered to them across a variety of platforms, and expanding the diversity of voices on our website.

Leave a comment
scroll to top