Uganda and Kenya Ban Flights from India Over Coronavirus

Kenya Airways is now exempted from paying the minimum tax set at one per cent of gross turnover

Kenya and Uganda have banned all flights from India due to the growing wave of COVID-19 cases from Saturday, 1st May 2021, midnight.

Both nations have separately said, no travellers from India shall be allowed into their territories regardless of the route of travel.

All travellers arriving from India before the suspension date regardless of the route of travel are expected to: be in possession of a negative PCR COVID 19 test certificate that is digitally verifiable conducted within 120 hours from the time of sample removal.

Undergo a mandatory PCR test upon arrival. All those who test positive shall undergo isolation at a government-approved isolation centre at their own cost.

As a result, Kenya Airways (KQ) and Uganda Airlines Friday suspended all passenger flights to and from Mumbai until further notice. 

KQ cargo operations will continue in order to facilitate delivery of emergency supplies including pharmaceuticals and medical equipment to Kenya and across Africa.

On the other hand, Uganda has exempted cargo flights where crew do not disembark, Technical stops where travellers do not disembark, Aircraft in a state of emergency.

“Customers affected by the suspension can change their bookings for later travel or exchange their booking for a voucher that can be used for future travels within 12 months,” KQ said in a statement.