Kenya’s Central Bank Opens Fourth Currency Center in Kisii

CBK Opens Fourth Currency Center in Kisii

The Central Bank of Kenya on Wednesday opened a new center in Kisii town easing the distribution of cash to counties in Nyanza region.

The Centre will serve seven counties in the region (Kisii, Nyamira, Migori, Bomet, Homa Bay, and parts of Narok and Kericho), a population of over 7 million people contributing about 12 percent of Kenya’s GDP.

“This branch will offer currency and technology services to county governments and banks, thus support the economic growth of this region,” CBK Governor Patrick Njoroge said on Wednesday.

The Kisii Centre is established under the partnership with the Kenya Bankers Association (KBA) and is located at the Absa Bank facilities opposite the Kisii County Government offices. 

The center becomes CBK’s fourth currency centre after Nyeri, Nakuru, and Meru. The regulator has its main branches in Mombasa, Kisumu, and Eldoret.

President Uhuru Kenyatta, who officiated the opening of the center, said it will ease access to money sent from outside the country.

“I believe that the people of this region also have a reason to not only be proud but also that going forward it would be much easier for government institutions including county governments and our banks to operate in a much smoother and economical manner as a result of the work the central bank has done here,” Kenyatta said.