Mars Wrigley Confectionery opens new Kshs7billion production facility in Kenya

Mars Wrigley Confectionery opens new Kshs7billion production facility in Athi River

Cabinet Secretary for Ministry of Industry, Trade and Cooperatives, Hon. Peter Munya officially launches the new Mars Wrigley Confectionery production facility in Athi River. Looking on is Mars Wrigley Confectionery Regional Managing Director, Middle East and Africa Dan McCulloch(left), Machakos County Governor Alfred Mutua, US Ambassador to Kenya Kyle McCarter and Mars Wrigley Confectionery Developing Middle East and Africa Corporate Affairs Director Wanja Mwangi.

Mars Wrigley Confectionery, a global leader in the manufacture of chewing gum, confections and chocolates, opened its Kshs 7 billion manufacturing plant in Athi River, Machakos County.

The new factory will produce popular Mars Wrigley Confectionery brands, including Big G®, PK®, Doublemint® and Juicy Fruit®. Additionally, the company will also look to expand a wide range of their chocolate portfolio in the market.

The plant is constructed on a 20-acre piece of land in Mavoko, Machakos County has replaced the company’s old plant that was located in Nairobi’s Industrial Area. The company’s investment in a new facility whose construction started three years ago, was driven by the need to meet growing demand for the firm’s products in Africa, while improving capacity and technology.

“With the rapidly expanding middle class and youthful population, we see our products becoming more and more integrated into people’s lifestyles,” said Mr. Duncan McCulloch, Regional Managing Director for Mars Wrigley Confectionery, speaking during the launch event in Machakos County.

The facility is expected to have a major impact on the Kenyan economy in terms of job creation both directly at the factory and indirectly through its expansive value chain as well as boosting the country’s exports.

It will serve a growing market of more than 14 countries – that includes Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Ethiopia, Djibouti, DRC and South Sudan.