Kenya, UK Working on Recognition of Vaccine Certificates

David Indeje is Khusoko’s Digital Editor, covering East African markets.
The 6 African countries selected to receive mRNA vaccines technology against Covid are Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa and Tunisia, a European Union and African Union nations meet heard.


Kenya and the UK on Tuesday agreed to work expeditiously on the recognition of vaccine certificates to facilitate the free movement of people.

“There has been significant public concern about the issue of vaccine certification. We want to make it clear that both the UK and Kenya recognise vaccines administered in both countries: Oxford-AstraZeneca, Moderna, Pfizer, and Johnson & Johnson.” the British High Commissioner to Kenya Jane Mariott Howe and Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe said in a joint statement.

“It is false to state that vaccines administered in either country are ‘unapproved’.”

However, the process would take time, they noted.

“At present, neither country has completed the process of recognising the other country’s vaccine certificates.”

The UK Government announced Friday that Kenya, Egypt, Bangladesh, Maldives, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Turkey will now move from the red-list to Amber.

This means people travelling from Kenya to the UK will no longer be required to hotel quarantine.

David Indeje is Khusoko’s Digital Editor, covering East African markets.

In my role as Community Engagement Editor For Khusoko, I care about our audience. engaging them, getting news delivered to them across a variety of platforms, and expanding the diversity of voices on our website.

Leave a comment
scroll to top