Manchester City beat Tottenham to win fourth consecutive Carabao Cup

City beat Spurs
  • City won their fourth straight Carabao Cup in a row by beating Tottenham
  • Aymeric Laporte headed in the winner in the 82nd minute from a Kevin De Bruyne’s free-kick

Manchester City beat Tottenham at Wembley to lift the Carabao Cup for the fourth year in a row.

City dominated the game in which they created numerous chances but struggled to find the net in front of 8,000 fans at the Wembley Stadium.

Raheem Sterling, Phil Foden, IIkay Gundogan and Riyad Mahrez each had chances to score but were either denied by Tottenham’s line of defence backed by several saves by Hugo Lloris.

Harry Kane, returning from injury, had little impact in the match as Spurs continued their hunt for silverware since 2008.

Spurs Interim Manage Ryan Mason fielded a side that looked to capitalize on the counterattack with Heung-Min Son and Lucas Moura flanking Kane.

The game looked all set to head into extra time with the game locked at 0-0 only for Serge Aurier to bring down Sterling and gift City a free-kick.

De Bruyne floated the ball into the area where Laporte rose and headed the ball into the net and give City the win.

City will now turn their attention to the Champions League when they travel to France for the first leg of their semi-final clash against Paris Saint Germain.