Kenya Treasury Disburses Ksh 24.6 billion to Cash Strapped Counties

National Treasury has disbursed Ksh 24.6 billion to county governments as part of the equitable share.

Chairman of the Council of Governors Wycliffe Oparanya

Kenya’s National Treasury says it has provided an additional Ksh 24.6 billion to the 47 county governments as part of the equitable share.

This is an addition to the Ksh 120.2 billion from the Ksh 133 billion for the fiscal year 2020/21.

Treasury says now Counties hold balances of Ksh 61.4 billion at the Central Bank of Kenya.

“The total balances for the various county governments now held at CBK amount to KSh61.4 billion, and in this respect, we once again appeal to them to make full and timely use of these funds, as additional disbursements from the exchequer are made in due course,” says Ukur Yatani, the CS Treasury in a statement issued Thursday.

The Council of Governors had threatened to shut down operations after the National Treasury failed to disburse the devolved funds.

As a result of the disbursed funds, they have been urged to prioritise pending bills to enable the institutions to discharge their duties effectively.

“Meanwhile, noting the general improvement of the economy and in particular positive revenue performance since December 2020, the National Treasury and Planning will prioritise disbursements to county governments, noting their critical obligations of service delivery to the Kenya citizens.”

A fortnight ago, Yatani had disclosed that “Disbursements to county governments are falling behind by two months.”