UAE Suspends Issuance of Visitor Visas to Kenya & 12 Countries

The Henley Passport Index (HPI) is a global ranking of countries according to the travel freedom for their citizens. It started in 2006 as Henley & Partners Visa Restrictions Index (HVRI) and was modified and renamed in January 2018.

The United Arab Emirates has stopped issuing new visas to citizens of Kenya.

The other countries hit by the UAE government’s fresh visa directives include Turkey, Iran, Yemen, Syria, Iraq, Somalia, Libya and Afghanistan.

As per the circular released by the Immigration Department, permit applications including new applications for new employment visa and new visit visa will be suspended till further notice,” the statement read.

However, those already holding valid visas were not affected and could still enter the UAE.

UAE Ministry of Health and Prevention Thursday reported 1,305 cases of the Covid-19 coronavirus and 826 recoveries and one death.

The total number of cases in UAE stands at 163,967 as of November 26, while total recoveries are 151,870. The death toll stands at 564.