John Wroe’ 1930 Ford Model A Wins 2019 CBA Concours d’Elegance

John Wroe’ 1930 Ford Model A Wins 2019 CBA Concours d’Elegance

John Wroe the overall winner of the CBA Concours 2019

John Wroe’s 1930 Ford Model A has won the 2019 CBA Concours d’Elegance following brilliant displays at the Nairobi Racecourse.

John tied with his daughter Veronica Wroe (below) on 275 points. Veronica, who won the event last year in a 1934 Rolls Royce Boatail, presented the best boot and tied 59-59 with his dad on engine points.

Veronica Wroe on 275 points

Sati Gata-Aura’s 1947 MG TG settled for the third spot with a point adrift. His 1977 Nissan 160J which displayed the event’s best underside finished fourth overall.

Kevit Desai with a 1968 Jaguar 420 clung onto the same position (5th) as last year garnering 268 points.

John Wroe’ 1930 Ford Model A Wins 2019 CBA Concours d’Elegance
Sati Jabbal DKW 1925 motorcycle winner

Peter Wanday, the Chairman of the Alfa Romeo Owners Club’s 1980 BMW320 won class 7 with 231 points followed by the 1966 Morris Marina of Tumaini Muthiga 223points and the 1988 Alfa Romeo 75 of Micky Bassi.


Top Ten Overall Results

1. John Wroe Ford Model A 1930 -275
2. Veronica Wroe Rolls Royce Boatail 1934 -275
3. Sati Gata-Aura MG TV 1947-274
4. Sati Gata-Aura Nissan 160 J 1977-273
5. Kevit Desai Jaguar 420 168-268
6. John Wroe Ford Model A pickup 1928-262
7. Gailying May Alfa Romeo Sprint 1962-262
8. Peponi Autocare (Tiny) Alfa Romeo Spider 1972 -261
9. Vitaform Products Ltd. Austin Mini 1972-260
10. David Westcott Filmer MGA 1961-251
Class 1 Utility vehicle 
1. Jascruisers Limited – Land Rover Defender – 249
2.Larry Asego – Volkswagen Camper – 190
3. Harry Thuku – Range Rover -172
4. Lucy Njeri – Toyota Landcruiser – 169
5. Harry Thuku – Toyota Landcruiser -155
Class 2 Utility
Mohamed Anwar-Ford V8 Pick up-232
Sachit Shah-Puch Haflinger-226
Stephen Warui-VW Kombi-214 R/Valley Technical VW Pick up-212
Tutu Muturi-VW Kombi-206 Isabella Riad-Willys Jeep-190
Isabella Riad-Chevrolet Pick up- 184
Harry Thuku-Toyota Landcruiser-163
Class 3 of Touring cars up to 1000cc 
1.Vitafoam Products Ltd -Austin Mini-260
2.Tumaini Muthiga- Mini Morris- 223
3.Evason Ndung’u Muriu- Mini Morris-207
4.Peter Muturi Njenga-Mini Morris- 199
Class 4 Touring cars 10001cc to 1300cc 
1. Paul Chemngorem- VW Karmann Ghia-215
2.Leslie Carvell (UG)-VW Beetle-209
3.Christina Omuombo-VW Beetle-204
4.Kakooza Wazzir(UG)- Mitsouka Viewt-189
5. Simon Karanja-Ford Anglia-174
Class 16 Street Motorcycles up to 650cc 
1. Richard Kariuki- BMW R65-146
2.Paul Aineruhanga-Honda Shadow -109
3.Morrison Ssenyange (UBA)-Honda CBR 600R-91