Charles Leclerc Extends F1 Championship Lead with Australian Grand Prix Victory

Charles Leclerc remained dominant from a pole position into a triumphant victory in the Australian Grand Prix on Sunday

Charles Leclerc remained dominant from a pole position into a triumphant victory in the Australian Grand Prix on Sunday, extending his Formula One championship lead.

The 24-year-old dominated the Australian Grand Prix from start to finish to take the chequered flag. 

“The car was incredible today. Really. What a race. What a day,” Leclerc said after the race.

The champ, Max Verstappen failed to finish for the second time in three races in 2022. 

Sergio Perez finished second, followed by both Mercedes and McLaren cars.

Leclerc has two wins and a second from the opening three races. 

But Leclerc is not getting carried away, playing down the Ferrari fever gripping fans ahead of the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix at Imola on April 24.

“I can imagine (the excitement in Italy) but I don’t want to think too much about it. It’s very early in the season obviously,” Leclerc said after his fourth grand prix victory.

“It’s good to be in the championship lead – 34 points is always good to take wherever you are in the calendar, but I don’t want to focus too much on the championship now.

“Italy will be incredible but we need to approach it as we do every race weekend,” he added.

“It’s extremely important not to put extra pressure on ourselves and try to overdo things.

“We are working as a team extremely well since the beginning of the season and we just need to keep doing our job like we did in the first three weekends.”

You will not miss a second of the action with every practice session, qualifying and race live on DStv’s SuperSport Motorsport (channel 215).

F1 Drivers’ Championship 2022 standings as of Sunday, April 10.
1Charles LeclercFerrari71
2George RussellMercedes37
3Carlos SainzFerrari33
4Sergio PerezRed Bull30
5Lewis HamiltonMercedes28
6Max VerstappenRed Bull25
7Esteban OconAlpine20
8Lando NorrisMcLaren16
=9Kevin MagnussenHaas12
=9Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo12
11Daniel RicciardoMcLaren8
12Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri6
13Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri4
14Fernando AlonsoAlpine2
=15Guanyu ZhouAlfa Romeo1
=15Alex AlbonWilliams1

2022 Formula 1: How to Watch All the 22 Grand Prix on DStv

Khusoko is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest East African business news and updates.


IK is a Masinde Muliro University graduate. His interests are in news and analysis on women's rights, politics, technology, law, and global affairs.

Leave a comment
scroll to top