Kenya Elected UN Security Council Non-permanent Member Beginning 2021

Kenya Elected UN Security Council Non-permanent Member Beginning 2021

Kenya was elected Thursday to the United Nations Security Council for a two-year term beginning January 2021-2022.

Kenya received  129 votes, against 113 in the first round on Tuesday, and Djibouti 62, against 78 in the first round. 

Both Kenya and Djibouti had failed to secure the required two-thirds majority on Wednesday, or 128 votes.

A two-thirds majority, or 128 votes, was required to win. However, only  191 of the 193 members of the United Nations registered a valid ballot. 

President Uhuru Kenyatta has welcomed Kenya’s resounding victory in Thursday’s second round of voting in the elections for a non-permanent seat on the UN Security Council.

According to a statement from the Presidential Service Communications Unit (PSCU) Kenyatta termed Kenya’s win as a demonstration of the country’s growing profile and influence in the community of nations as a steadfast and dependable development partner.

“Kenya, the President said, will endeavor to consolidate and voice Africa’s position in the Security Council and will advance its 10-point agenda as outlined during the campaign period,” read part of the PSCU statement.

“Kenya will focus on matters that really matter which are peace in Somalia, supporting South Sudanese government, fighting terrorism, and work with regional governments to improve the East African region, ” President Uhuru Kenyatta. 

Kenya had been endorsed by the African Union.

Kenyatta thanked the Republic of Djibouti for Kenya’s competitor in the election, the Republic of Djibouti for being a worthwhile opponent and the African Union for the endorsement as the continent’s flag bearer in the contest.

Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) Governor Dr. Patrick Njoroge in a statement Friday congratulated the team involved and especially the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, whose tireless efforts led to the outcome.

He said: ‵‵The election affirms Kenya’s continental leadership and its commitment to multilateralism. This is particularly important in the current context of the COVID-19 pandemic. Kenya will have an opportunity to introduce the African perspective in this crucial global body.”

On Wednesday, the General Assembly elected four new members of the Security Council for 2021 and 2022 — India, Mexico, Norway and Ireland.

The Security Council has 10 non-permanent members. Five are permanent members, who have the right to veto resolutions: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.  However, Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States have veto powers. 

They will replace Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and South Africa.

Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam will remain in the Council through the end of 2021.