IAAF Crown Eliud Kipchoge, Dalilah Muhammad Named 2019 Athletes of The Year

Eliud Kipchoge breaks two-hour marathon barrier

Marathon champion Eliud Kipchoge was crowned 2019 Male Athlete of the Year award by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

He retained the award during the World Athletics gala held in Monaco on Saturday, November 23. Kipchoge said: “I hope I inspire the human race. I’m just really happy to make history. I hope it was a big inspiration to the next generation.”

Dalilah Muhammad from the USA and 400m runner beat Kenya’s Brigid Kosgei, Jamaican Shelly-Ann Fraser and Sifa Hassan of the Netherlands, to win the Female Athlete of the Year Award.