Michael Kibet, Daisy Chepkemei Win the 11th edition of Ndalat Gaa Cross Country Championships

Michael Kibet and Daisy Chepkemei are the newly crowned champions of the 11th edition of Isaiah Kiplagat Memorial Ndalat Gaa cross country championships.

They dethroned Rhonex Kipruto and Sandra Jebet who were last year’s reigning champions.

In a hotly contested 10 KM Men’s race Michael Kibet won in a time of 30:23.4 followed closely by Emmanuel Kipchirchir and Robert Kiprop clocking a time of 30:25.8 and 30:36.8 clinching the second and third position respectively.

This year’s race attracted over 3000 athletes both men and women from all ages 

“Last year I took part in the junior category cross-country championship but I felt it was time I try out in the senior race. I am so happy to have emerged the winner having in mind that it was my first time. It has been a long way coming and I am glad that the hard work I put in bore fruit. It goes to show that if you work hard and focus on winning, no dream is too big to achieve,” said Michael Kibet

Daisy Chepkemei triumphed in the women’s 10 KM category by clocking a time of 34:12.3 followed by Beatrice Chebet in 34:49.5.  Jackline Chepwogen was third in a time of 35:01.6 securing a slot at the podium.

The winner this year walked away with KSh 30, 000, with the second and third position receiving a cash reward of KSh 20, 000 and KSh 15, 000 respectively and a host of other individual prices.

“I would like to thank the sponsors for coming together and keeping alive this cross-country. Over the years the race has been growing in lips and bounds exposing raw talent into the limelight as well as bring good tidings to the surrounding community. This year the surrounding community has received a two day free medical camp courtesy of the event,” Said Abraham Mutai, Chairman Ndalat Gaa cross-country championship.

The race is part of the Safaricom Athletics Series calendar that was founded by the late Isaiah Kiplagat with the aim of discovering and nurturing raw talent in the Country.

The remaining races in the Safaricom Athletics Series calendar are Imenti South Road race and Kisumu City road race.

In other races;

Junior Men – 8KM

  1. Gideon Rono – 24:22.3
  2. Reuben Longosiwa – 24: 43.1
  3. Francis Langat – 24:43.6

Junior Women – 6KM

  1. Ednah Jebitok – 20:24.5
  2. Jackline Jerono – 20:32.6
  3. Maureen Jerotich – 20:44.8

Girls 4KM (13-15)

  1. Jackline Jepkoech – 14:25.4
  2. Sheila Kwambai – 14:35.9
  3. Purity Jepkirui – 14:36.8

Boys 4KM (13-15)

  1. Bernad Kipkirui – 12: 38.7
  2. Gideon Kiprotich- 12:40.1
  3. Denis Kipngetich – 12:40.9

Boys 500M (4-6) Boys

  1. Rodrick Kipkirui – 2:05.9
  2. Kirwa Ian – 2: 12.4
  3. Ifdayas Kiplimo – 2:12.7


Girls 500M (4-6) Girls

  1. Sherry Debra – 1:54.0
  2. Bralyne Chepkemboi – 1:57.9
  3. Clare Jepchirchie – 1:58.8

Multimedia platform providing analysis of business & financial news in East Africa.

Leave a comment
scroll to top