Kenya Does Not Accept Its Own Currency As Payment For Visa On Arrival?

Avatar photo
Jambojet have a Loyalty Program, JM Rewards, that earns you points each time you fly

In 2017, Kenya announced visa on arrival for all Africans to enhance free movement of people, spur economic growth and development as well as promote Intra-African trade.

“The freer we are to travel and live with one another, the more integrated and appreciative of our diversity, we will become. The political balkanization that risks our mutual security, the negative politics of identity, will recede as our brotherhood expands to embrace more Africans,” announced President Uhuru Kenyatta.

On the other hand, it is not easy for African citizens to gain entry in Kenya according to Rebecca Enonchong, founder and Chief Executive Officer of AppsTech, a leading global provider of enterprise application solutions.

She says if you are an African citizen with KSH, it will not gain you entry into Magical Kenya.

This applies to Tanzania too who has been reported to be tightening its own visa policy for some African. 


There are three e-visa types for people traveling to the Republic of Kenya temporarily.

Single Entry visa:  Issued for a single entry to persons whose nationalities require a visa to enter Kenya either for business, tourism or medical reasons.

Transit visa: Issued to persons connecting through Kenya to other destinations for a period not exceeding 72 hours. Those connecting flights directly without leaving the airport don’t need to apply for Transit visas.

Courtesy visa: Issued to Diplomatic, Official and Service passport holders coming into the country on official duties, or transiting through Kenya to a third country for official business or duties. It is also issued to government officials and dignitaries on official duties but holding ordinary passports. It is issued free of charge / gratis.

How much is the e-visa?
Single entry visa USD $51 (Ksh 5100).
Transit visa USD $21(Ksh 2100)
Courtesy visa No Charge.



2016, African Heads of State and government officials during the 27th African Union Summit unveiled the African Union passport allowing visa-free travel.

This is in line with the vision outlined by the AU in its Agenda 2063 policy document, which includes the abolition of visa requirements for all African citizens in all the continent’s countries by 2018.  The flagship project was first agreed upon in 2014.

Aspirations 2 and 7 of Agenda 2063, respectively, envision an Africa that is ‘integrated’ and ‘united’, and the introduction of the Common African Passport as an effort towards realizing integration and unity on the continent. In Africa, you can get your visa on arrival if you are traveling to Rwanda, Ghana, Ethiopia, Namibia, Nigeria.

Avatar photo

Multimedia platform providing analysis of business & financial news in East Africa.

Leave a comment
scroll to top