Alvaro Morata bags a hat-trick of offside goals against Barcelona
- Alvaro Morata endured a frustrating night after seeing three goals ruled out
- The Spanish side would carry the night beating the Italians 2-0 thanks to goals from Ousmane Dembele and Lionel Messi
- Morata beat Neto on three occasions, but each was deemed offside
- Mental Health and Psychosocial considerations during the COVID-19
Alvaro Morata bags a hat-trick of offside goals against Barcelona.
Andrea Pirlo’s side hosted the LaLiga giants in a crunch Group G clash in the Champions League on Wednesday, with both sides looking to stamp their authority on the group.
But it was Ronald Koeman’s side that came out on top, with goals from Ousmane Dembele and Lionel Messi enough to earn the visitors a confidence-boosting win in Turin.
On another night, Alvaro Morata could have been a happy man indeed. As it was, the Juventus striker was left frustrated as he saw a hat-trick of goals ruled out for offside in a 2-0 defeat to Barcelona.
The Italian champions were made to look second best throughout, with a late red card for Merih Demiral and a spot kick against Federico Bernardeschi piling more misery on the Old Lady.
Just one minute after Dembele opened the scoring for Barcelona, Morata had the ball in the net after slotting home with the second bite of the cherry.
— V SPORTZ NATION (@VSPORTZNATION) October 29, 2020
However, the linesman’s flag was up for offside, with the 28-year-old ahead of the last man when Juan Cuadrado played the decisive through ball.
Then, on the half hour mark, Morata had the ball beyond Neto but the linesman’s flag was up once more, with the Spaniard straying offside when Cuadrado delivered a teasing ball into the box.
Cuadrado turned provided once more in the second half as the Colombian hooked the ball back across the face of goal and Morata hammered home.
The Spaniard turned to the linesman, expecting the flag to be raised. But when the official determined that Morata had been in an onside position, the striker was visibly relieved that he had finally drawn his side level.
However, VAR intervened and found that, yet again, Morata had strayed offside when Cuadrado played the ball in, meaning his goal was chalked off for a third time.