British American Tobacco Kenya Announces Changes to its Board of Directors 

British American Tobacco Kenya Announces Changes to its Board of Directors 

British American Tobacco Kenya plc new members to its Board Mr Philemon Kipkemoi, Mrs Marion Gathoga-Mwangi, Mr Andre Willem Joubert.

British American Tobacco Kenya plc (BAT Kenya)  has appointed its head of finance Mr Philemon Kipkemoi, as Executive Director.

The Board of Directors also appointed Mr Andre Willem Joubert and Mrs Marion Gathoga-Mwangi as Non-Executive Directors effective 28 May 2020.

Kipkemoi has been with BAT for 14 years. He is the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the BAT Kenya Staff Provident Funds and a non-executive director of BAT Uganda. He holds a Bachelor of Technology Degree from Moi University, and an MBA from Oxford Brookes University.

Andre is the current Area Director for BAT East and Southern Africa. “He brings a wealth of experience having worked in the tobacco, mining, banking and audit industries and across several jurisdictions notably the United Kingdom, South Africa, Indonesia, Switzerland and Zimbabwe,”  says the Board.

Mrs. Gathoga-Mwangi is the current managing director at BOC Kenya, bringing a wealth of experience in manufacturing. She has previous experience serving as the country head in Groupe Lactalis, and Cadbury Kenya, and East Africa Limited. 

She was also a General manager at Unga Limited and a Trustee at Palmhouse Foundation. She also serves as a Trustee of the Palmhouse Foundation, a member of Women Corporate Directors, and a Council Member of Superbrands East Africa.



On the other hand, the Board said the company’s current Finance Director, Sydney Wafula, will resign as a director on June 24, 2020 and take up an alternate director position to Mr. Joubert on June 25.

“The resignation follows is deployment to South Africa as Finance Director fro BAT East & Southern Africa,” said the Board.

Kipkemoi will succeed him as the Company’s Finance Director.

“The Chairman and the Board congratulate and welcome Mr. Kipkemoi, Mr. Joubert, and Mrs. Gathonga-Mwangi to the Board. The Board also thanks to Mr Wafula for his dedicated and distinguished service.”