Kenya Extends Movement in and out Nairobi, 4 Counties Until May 17

Kenyatta Nominates Nancy Janet Kabui Gathungu for Auditor General
  • Saturday marked the 44th day since the first case of COVID-19 was confirmed.

Kenya’s coronavirus cessation of movement in and out of Nairobi, Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale and Mandera countries has been extended by another 21 days, President Uhuru Kenyatta said in his fifth address to the nation Saturday.

Further, in accordance with the advice of the National Emergency Response Committee on the Coronavirus Pandemic, Kenyatta also extended the nationwide 7 pm to 5 am curfew for another 21 days.

The ban was to end Sunday 26.

Kenyatta explained that security services will upgrade their alert and response “ensure that porous borders and security threats do not compromise our response to this pandemic”.

President Kenyatta said the had recorded seven new coronavirus cases in the last 24 hours.

“Additionally, counties of Mandera, Kilifi, Kwale and Mombasa have registered an increase in cases of infection. If this worrying trend does not reverse, more stringent measures will be taken in consultation with the County Governments,” said Kenyatta.