Kenyan TV, Movie Awards Winners at The 9th Edition of Kalasha Awards

Kalasha Awards 2019

The 9th edition of the prestigious Kalasha Awards, an annual Kenyan TV and movie awards,  was held at Safari Park Hotel where 2019 winners were honoured.

This edition co-hosted by the Kenya Film Commission and the digital Television Company, StarTimes received 959 entries in the 34 categories that were up for voting. This was the first-ever edition to give monetary gifts to the winners. 

“We endeavor to take these awards to greater heights. We are glad that through these awards, we have encouraged our local TV stations to effect the 60% rule on local content as per government directive This resulted in the promotion of local talents and accrued benefits for different stakeholders.  We are encouraged by East Africa’s level of innovation and creativity. All we have to do is believe in ourselves as we compete at international arenas,” said KFC chief executive  Timothy Owase.

“As I join you here for the 2019 edition of the Kalasha Film and TV Awards, I am amazed by the glamour I see here tonight, obviously an improvement of last year. With much gratitude, I take this opportunity to recognise the organisers and the sponsors for supporting this event,” said ICT and Innovation Principal Secretary Jerome Ochieng.

Kenya’s only 100% local content channel, Maisha Magic East (MME), emerged the biggest winner of the night receiving 5 awards. 

Among the winning shows were Selina, which scooped the Best TV Drama award while Pascal Tokodi, the leading male actor in the show Selina won the Best Lead Actor in a TV Drama award. Nyanya Rukia was top in the Best TV Comedy category, Our Perfect Wedding won the Best TV Reality Show award while Amina Abdi Rabar of the Turn Up show walked away with the Best Host in a TV show.

Below is the list of the 2019 winners:

Best Feature Film: Lost In Time – Edijoe Mwaniki

Best Original Score: Cathy Matete – What’s On Your Mind

Best Short Film: The Whistle Blower – Beatrice Wangondu

Best Lighting Technician: Plan B – Walter Odhiambo

Best Original Screenplay: Lost In Time – Edijoe Mwaniki

Best Special Effects: Kitambo- Willis Wanyiri

Best Director of Photography: The Whistle Blower – Abdi Shuria

Best Documentary: My Cancer Story – Uncensored Mtaani – Elijah Kanyi, Africa Uncensored

Best Sound Designer: Lost In Time – Karanja Kiarie

Best Local Language Film: Jonarobi – Robin Odongo

Best Editor: The Whistle Blower – John Onyamo & Kenji  Gathecha-

Best Production Designer: Ensulo – Tecla Joan, Shila Gathoni, Wilson Nya, Sarah Kimario

Best Director: Lost In Time – Peter Kawa

Best Lead Actor In Film: Lost in Time – George Mo

Best Supporting Actor In Film: Mara Ya Fao – Ibrahim Muchemi

Best Lead Actress In Film: Plan B – Sarah Hassan

Best Supporting Actress In Film: You Again – Neomi Ng’ang’a

Best TV Advertisement: The Selfie – Acnes Creamy Wash

Best TV Comedy: Nyanya Rukia – Maisha Magic

Best TV Drama: Selina- Maisha Magic

Best TV Documentary Show: Disappearing Spots

Best Host in TV Show: The Turn Up – Amina Abdi Rabar

Best Performance in a TV Comedy: Nyanya Rukia – Kazungu Fahamu

Best Lead Actress in a TV Drama: Ithaga Riene – Nyce Wanjeri

Best Lead Actor in a TV Drama: Selina – Pascal Tokodi

Best TV Reality: Our Perfect Wedding – Maisha Magic

Best E-Sport: Africa E-Sports Championship- Kenya Nationals

Special Awards  

Best Diaspora Production: Pardon, Excuse My Manners- Saitabao Kaiyare

Best Student Short Film: Unbalanced- Kevin Osoo, USIU

Best Film Feature by a Student: Jiji- James Mwangi Mugo, Kenyatta University

 Best Documentary by a Student: This Is Us (Shirazi) – Victoria Goro

Best Animation Production: XYZ Show- King Muriuki

Best Gaming: Mzito- George Odongo

Kituo Halisi: KU TV Kenya

Lifetime Achievement Award: Francis Ouma